Rulings

Displaying 1 through 20 of 582 rulings.

  • Action Continues As If Unblocked

Clarification: If an effect continues a blocked action "as if unblocked", then all action modifiers, including stealth and Dawn Operation, are still in effect. [RTR 19941109]

  • Action Continues As If Unblocked

Clarification: An action cannot continue "as if unblocked" during a combat resulting from a successful action. [RTR 19970630]

  • Action Continues As If Unblocked

Ruling: Any effect that starts a new combat after the combat that was ended by (or continues the combat that was ended by) a "combat ends and the action continues as if unblocked" will nullify the "continue action" part. This includes Psyche (superior), Fast Reaction, Hidden Lurker, and Telepathic Tracking. [LSJ 19980109]

  • Action Continues As If Unblocked

Ruling: Performing diablerie (via Amaranth) at the end of the combat that is ended by a "combat ends and the action continues as if unblocked" effect will nullify the "continue action" part. [LSJ 19980819]

  • Action Continues As If Unblocked

Ruling: "continue as if unblocked" inherently moves the action card from the ash heap (where it went when the action was blocked) to limbo (where it should be if the action is not blocked). If the action card is not in the ash heap, then the action cannot be continued (like Swarm or Reinforcements). [20070808 ]

  • Action Modifiers/Reactions

Ruling: Action Modifiers that can be played by minions other than the acting minion (Hidden Lurker, Mask of a Thousand Faces, superior Cloak the Gathering) can only be played by the controller of the acting minion. [LSJ 19990425]

  • Action Modifiers/Reactions

Ruling: Action modifiers cannot be played by a vampire in torpor unless that vampire is the acting minion. [RTR 19970306]

  • Actions

Ruling: Between the time the action card (including ally, equipment, retainer, and political action cards) is played and the action completely resolved, the action card is neither in play nor in the ash heap. When the action is resolved, the card is burned or put in play, as appropriate. [LSJ 20040623]

  • Actions

Ruling: If a minion cannot pay the entire cost of an action when the action resolves, what cost can be paid is paid, and the action continues with no effect ("fizzles"). [RTR 20011007]

  • Actions

Ruling: If a minion cannot take a mandatory action (for whatever reason), the he is stuck and can take no action. [LSJ 20010810]

  • Actions

Ruling: Any action which retrieves an equipment card and says to 'equip' the acting minion with that card is considered an 'equip action'. [TOM 19960130]

  • Actions

Ruling: If the Methuselah loses control of the acting minion before the action is successful, then the action ends. [RTR 19970630]

  • Actions

Ruling: Cards and abilities that are usable only after a successful action are used after the action is completed, including any oustings. [RTR 19970630]

  • Allies

Clarification: Ignore all "burn blood" effects entirely. [TOM 19960326]

  • Allies

Ruling: There is no limit to an Ally's life (if some effect gives an Ally more life than it started with, the excess does not drain off). [TOM 19960604]

  • Allies

Errata: An ally that plays a card "as a vampire" is treated "as a vampire" for all puposes of the resolution of the play of that card including any continuing effects, but not for effects the card generates for being in play. [RTR 20070707]

  • Blocking

Ruling: If the target of a directed action is reset, a new "choose blockers" opportunity results. [RTR 19970630]

  • Blocking

Ruling: Combat occurs as part of the block - not after the block. (So Cats' Guidance and Freak Drive are played after the combat, not before). [RTR 19980623]

  • Combat

Ruling: By default, combat cards only apply to the round in which they are played. Explicit card text is needed to overcome this default. [RTR 19980623]

  • Combat

Ruling: A maneuver or press gained by a combat card can only be used during the current round of combat. A maneuver or press gained by a non-combat card (e.g., action, equipment) can be used in any round of the combat. [TOM 19960521]