Rulings

Displaying 21 through 40 of 582 rulings.

  • Combat

Ruling: If an effect "sets" the range of a round (and therefore skips the maneuver phase), no other effect can be used to reset the range. [RTR 19970630]

  • Combat

Ruling: A vampire burned in combat does not pass through Torpor. [RTR 19941109]

  • Combat

Errata: Cards which are not usable by vampires going to Torpor are not usable by vampires burned in combat, either. [RTR 19950622]

  • Combat

Ruling: Cards which are not usable by vampires going to Torpor only check to see if the vampire is currently going to torpor, not if the vampire will be going to Torpor later. E.g., A vampire with Undead Persistence can still play these types of cards. [LSJ 19970304]

  • Combat

Ruling: Hand Strike: any non-ranged, non-weapon strike that deals damage based on the striking minion's strength, or any minion's non-ranged damage-dealing innate strike. [LSJ 19970224]

  • Combat

Ruling: If the strike does something in addition to ending combat, that something takes place just after the combat ends. [RTR 19970630]

  • Combat

Ruling: If a strike has additional effects like a press (e.g., Thrown Sewer Lid, Kraken's Kiss, Wind Dance), and that strike is canceled (e.g., with Primal Instincts or with The Jones), then the rest of the effect is also canceled. [RTR 20040501]

  • Combat

Ruling: Combat effects played at the end of a round/combat can be played when the round ends via S:CE or similar. [RTR 20001020]

  • Combat

Ruling: You can use an effect that will steal/burn more blood (or life) than the target minion has - you steal/burn what he has. The effect targets the minion, not the counters. [RTR 20010710]

  • Combat

Clarification: Only maneuvering with a weapon commits you to striking with that weapon. Other effects can be used without striking with the weapon. [LSJ 19971215]

  • Combat

Ruling: If you have any pending (additional) strikes, wait until those strikes are resolved before gaining further additional strikes (if you are allowed to use more than one additional-strike-gaining effect in a round). [LSJ 20001206]

  • Combat

Ruling: You can gain additional strikes even if you cannot strike. You still cannot strike with the additional strike, however. [LSJ 19970821]

  • Combat

Ruling: Things that are played "at the end of round" (Disarm, Taste of Vitae, etc.) are played after all presses for the round are handled (if the round makes it that far; they can be played if the round ends prematurely, as normal). [RTR 20030519]

  • Combat

Ruling: An effect which would cause (a new) combat cannot be used if there is already a pending combat queued. [RTR 20020501]

  • Contesting

Ruling: Unique cards on contested cards are out of the game except with respect to being contested. They are contested as normal, should the need arise. [RTR 19951017]

  • Contesting

Ruling: Incoming copies of contested cards do not enter play prior to being contested. Any effect the new copy of the contested has for being in play is not activated prior to the contest. [RTR 20030519]

  • Contesting

Ruling: Temporary control effects are ended if the vampire is contested, as normal, so the vampire would be placed facedown in front of his previous (permanent) controller. [RTR 20000501]

  • Controlled Cards

Clarification: If control of a card is returned to a player who has been ousted, the card is burned. [RTR 19960221]

  • Controlled Cards

Clarification: A card with a clan symbol only requires a ready member of that clan *when played*. You don't need a clan member to gain control of the card (via Far Mastery, Disputed Territory, etc.) once it's in play. [TOM 19960226]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Damage is only considered to have come from a minion if the damage is from a strike or if an effect specifically states that the damage is dealt by the minion. Damage from other effects is considered "environmental," and has no particular source. [RTR 19970630]