Rulings

Displaying 41 through 60 of 582 rulings.

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Resolving multiple points of (simultaneous) damage is done all at once - you cannot interrupt the process to play some other effect (like tapping the Vagabond Mystic). [LSJ 20001111]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: The damage modifier must be played before the end of the Choose Strike phase in order to affect the current strike. [RTR 19960112]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Ammo cards are played before any strikes take effect regardless of whether those strikes deal damage or not. Thus, if a vampire who is getting shot with Dragon's Breath Rounds is targeted by Rotschreck, the combat will end before either strike does anything. [RTR 19960221]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Adding damage to strikes which are not damage dealing strikes will not deal damage (e.g., using Lucky Blow and choosing your Rowan Ring melee weapon won't deal damage) [RTR 19960221]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Additional damage inherits all of the properties of the base damage (So the +1 damage from lucky blow is aggravated for Basilia). [RTR ]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: The base damage does not inherit the properties of the additional damage (So a Saturday Night Special with Dragon's Breath Rounds does 1 normal plus 2 aggravated damage). [RTR ]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Effects that increase the damage provided by strike cards affect those cards rather than the striking minion (so the added damage is the same type as the strike's damage, not the base damage). [RTR 19970630]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Effects that prevent "up to X" or that prevent "X" damage have the same effect -- they prevent as much damage as possible, up to the maximimum (X) specified. [RTR 20041202]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: "Damage from a strike" only includes damage done to the opposing target. Side effect damage is not counted as "damage from a strike". Therefore, self-inflicted damage from Zip Gun, Grenade, Burst of Sunlight, Body of Sun, etc. is side effect damage and is not preventable by "prevent damage from a strike" effects like Skin of Steel, Leather Jacket, etc. [LSJ 19970108][ ]

  • Damage (Combat)

Ruling: Damage done to an uncontrolled vampire is ignored. [RTR 19991001]

  • Directed Actions

Errata: Actions which target another player's hand, uncontrolled region, crypt, or library (or cards therein) are directed at that player. (Actions which target another player's ash heap are undirected by default). [LSJ 20010924][LSJ 20010926]

  • Directed actions

Clarification: An action you take directed at yourself (or something you control) is an undirected action, even if the action is marked with a (D) symbol. [RTR 19980707]

  • Equipment

Ruling: Equipment is not optional, unless indicated by card text. Using a weapon as a strike is optional. [RTR 19980707][ ]

  • Equipment

Ruling: Equipment only applies while in possession. If needed for an action, the action will fizzle if the acting minion doesn't possess the equipment when the action resolves. [RTR 19960221]

  • Equipment

Ruling: A weapon's "current damage" is the amount of damage that the weapon would inflict if used as a strike by bearer against a generic opponent. (This affects Machine Blitz). [RTR 19980623]

  • Equipment

Ruling: A "regular strike" is unmodified, so would use the default strength [LSJ 20020821]

  • Equipments which are Locations (Loquipment)

Errata: Loquipment doesn't count as equipment while it is in play. [RTR 19960112]

  • Equipments which are Locations (Loquipment)

Ruling: Loquipment may be put on any ready minion if moved in an ambiguous fashion (by Disputed Territory, e.g.). If the new controller has no minions, the locquipment is burned. (Note: currently all moves are ambiguous - TOM). [RTR 19960112]

  • Equipments which are Locations (Loquipment)

Ruling: Transferring Locquipment via Disputed Territory to the *same* Methuselah that currently controls the locquipment results in no effect - the locquipment cannot be moved to a different minion of the same Methuselah. [LSJ 19971002]

  • Hunt

Ruling: Any hunt modification (Aaron's Razor, Hesha, etc.) is allowed on special hunts (Legacy of Cain, Week of Nightmares, etc.), following card text. Note that card text on Festivo dello Estinto and Inbase Discotek explicitly move the additional blood from the blood bank (rather than from the new, non-default, target of the hunt). [RTR 20030519]