Rulings

Displaying 61 through 80 of 582 rulings.

  • Imbued Powers

Clarification: A Power's reaction effect can be used only when reactions can be used. On the Qui Vive can be used to enable a tapped Imbued to use the reaction effect. Similarly, Blind Spot would prevent an Imbued from using the reaction effect. [LSJ 20070403][LSJ 20070413]

  • Infernal

Clarification: Having other effects that cause the infernal vampire not to untap as normal during the untap phase are redundant with being infernal. If the vampire doesn't untap because of being infernal and because he has a Sensory Deprivation, for example, his controller may still burn a pool to untap the vampire. [LSJ 20050114]

  • Library/Hand/Ash Heap

Ruling: If you hold fewer cards in hand than your hand size because your library is empty and then one or more cards are returned to your library, immediately draw the cards into your hand (stopping if your reach your hand size). [LSJ 20001127]

  • Library/Hand/Ash Heap

Ruling: The cards that you are currently not replacing count against your hand size. [LSJ 19980803]

  • Library/Hand/Ash Heap

Ruling: Cards that go into an ash heap, hand, or library always go into their owner's ash heap, hand, or library. [RTR 19970425]

  • Library/Hand/Ash Heap

Errata: If an effect causes you to search your library or crypt, shuffle that deck afterward. [LSJ 20040518]

  • Master Cards

Ruling: Changing the controller of a location has no other effect, unless specified by card text. Exception: A location "on" another controlled card is moved onto an appropriate card controlled by the new controller of the location. (so you can retarget a Tomb of Ramses, for example, but the amount of blood on a powerbase doesn't change). [RTR 19980623]

  • Master Cards

Ruling: The effect of the Master Card is completely defined when the card is played (any targets must be named). [LSJ 19970630]

  • Master Cards

Errata: The Master: Discipline card increases the vampire's level of the Discipline by 1 while it is on the vampire. Discipline levels: 0 (none), 1 (normal), and 2 (superior). [LSJ 20011227]

  • Merging advanced vampires

Clarification: Any blood counters (or other cards, if the vampire had been Banished, for example) on the uncontrolled card being merged are burned. They do not transfer to the vampire in play. Only the crypt card is moved to the vampire in play. [LSJ 20030418][LSJ 20030421]

  • Minion cards

Clarification: When played, a split Discipline card counts as requiring the Discipline being used (for effects that enhance or restrict cards that require certain Disciplines). In the hand (or library or ash heap), the card can be considered to require either Discipline (for effects that retrieve cards that require certain Disciplines). [LSJ 20020510]

  • Minion cards

Clarification: A Discipline-based card that is put into play is put into play at either basic or superior level. Once in play, you can't change which level it was played at, even if you give the vampire that played it a better ability. [TOM 19960403]

  • Playing Cards

Clarification: If a card targets (chooses, selects, is played on, etc.) some target, then the card can only be played if an appropriate target is available. Examples: Strike: Steal/Destroy Equipment/Weapon cannot be used if the opposing minion doesn't have a suitable Equipment/Weapon to be destroyed/stolen. [RTR 19980928][LSJ 20030408]

  • Playing Cards

Ruling: You cannot play a card whose cost cannot be paid. If, between the time a action card is played (or an action is attempted) and the time the cost of the action is paid, you no longer can pay the cost, then you pay as much as you can and the card is burned without effect (or the action has no effect). [TOM 19960514][RTR 20010710]

  • Playing Cards

Ruling: A card can be canceled "as it is played" (with Sudden Reversal, Direct Intervention, etc.) only as it is played. The only cards that can be played "as" another one is played are the ones the players have in their hands at the time. You cannot use the Barrens after a master card is played, for example, to attempt to draw into a Sudden Reversal to cancel it. [RTR 20040501]

  • Playing Cards

Ruling: An effect that allows a minion to play a card that requires a Discipline he doesn't have (e.g., Infernal Familiar, Ian Forestal) can be used to meet one (not both) of the normal Discipline requirements of a multi-Discipline card. [LSJ 20011217]

  • Priscus (Prisci vote)

Ruling: Prisci in general have zero votes (for effects that operate based on the number of votes a vampire has). [RTR 19970630]

  • Priscus (Prisci vote)

Ruling: If a Priscus is forced to abstain or to change his votes, then this includes his votes in the Prisci sub-referendum as well as his votes (if any) in the main referendum. [LSJ 19970224]

  • Priscus (Prisci vote)

Ruling: An individual Priscus is not tainted by the result of the Prisci sub-referendum. (This only matters for cards like Bribes and Scorn of Adonis that care which way individual minions voted.) A Priscus is considered to have voted "for" or "against" (or to have abstained from) the main referendum based on how he cast his vote(s) in the sub-referendum, regardless of the result of that sub-referendum. [RTR 20000501]

  • Retainers

Ruling: If a retainer which requires a Discipline to be employed is brought into play by a means other than "Employ Retainer", treat it as if it were brought into play with the basic version of the Discipline. [RTR 19960221]