Rulings

Displaying 81 through 100 of 582 rulings.

  • Retainers

Ruling: Any reference to the employing vampire should be a reference to the employing minion, unless the retainer's ability clearly only applies to a vampire (i.e., unless the ability affects blood, Disciplines, clan, sect, capacity, titles, or votes). [RTR 19960530][RTR 19990105]

  • Retainers

Errata: Damage done to retainers is not "unpreventable" nor "undodgable", although there are few effects that allow a retainer to prevent damage or dodge strikes. [LSJ 20070820]

  • Terminology

Ruling: "During time period X, (you may) do Y" limits Y to once per phase X. [LSJ 19970625]

  • Terminology

Ruling: "At the start of the untap phase" is another way of specifying "during the untap phase". Neither phrasing specifies a period of time before the other. [RTR 19990105]

  • Terminology

Clarification: "As played" (a phrase used by many card-canceling effects) comes after the card in question is fully announced and before the effect the play generates. In general, no card or effect can be used in this window. The only ones that can be arethe effects that say so, and Wake-style effects that enable such cards to be played ("may play reaction cards" effects, not "untap self" or other effects)."Same Action" means: 1) The same inherent (cardless) action taken against the same target. 2) The action taken with the same card played from hand, regardless of target. 3) The same action provided by the same copy of a card in play. (Each action provided by a card in play is a distinct action (and doesn't count as the "same action").Any "same action" is the "same type of action" - so a superior Govern the Unaligned is a Govern action type just as a inferior Govern the Unaligned is (and the inferior is also a bleed action type). [RTR 19950905][LSJ 20001122]

  • Terminology

Ruling: "Same Action" means: 1) The same inherent (cardless) action taken against the same target. 2) The action taken with the same card played from hand, regardless of target. 3) The same action provided by the same copy of a card in play. (Each action provided by a card in play is a distinct action (and doesn't count as the "same action"). [RTR 19950905]

  • Terminology

Ruling: Any "same action" is the "same type of action" - so a superior Govern the Unaligned is a Govern action type just as a inferior Govern the Unaligned is (and the inferior is also a bleed action type). [LSJ 20001122]

  • Titles

Ruling: Blood capacity gained by gaining a title will be lost if the title is lost. [TOM 19960210]

  • Torpor and Diablerie

Ruling: Only vampires can commit diablerie. Effects that would allow something other than a vampire to commit diablerie are ignored. [RTR 19970630]

  • Torpor and Diablerie

Ruling: If a blood hunt cannot be called (Muaziz, the diablerist of March Halcyon, etc.), then no referendum to call one is conducted. [LSJ 20020715]

  • Torpor and Diablerie

Ruling: Only ready vampires can commit diablerie. Vampires in Torpor cannot. [RTR 19980623]

  • Torpor and Diablerie

Ruling: The steps of diablerie (section 6.5.5 of the rules) are indivisible - you cannot interrupt them to play other effects (exceptions made for effects played within the referendum, per 6.5.6). Notably: effects played when a vampire is about to be burned are played before the whole thing and effects played when a vampire is burned (meaning "has been") or after a vampire is burned are played after the whole thing. [LSJ 20020311][LSJ 20020411]

  • Torpor and Diablerie

Ruling: If an event both burns and torporizes a vampire, the controller decides whether the vampire will go into torpor before being burned. [RTR 19960708]

  • Vampires/Crypt/Uncontrolled Region

Ruling: A vampire's capacity can never be reduced below one, even by the effects of Violet Tremain or Mind of a Child. [RTR 19990712]

  • Vampires/Crypt/Uncontrolled Region

Ruling: If a Caitiff creates another vampire (via the Embrace, for example), the created is Caitiff (and clanless) by default (unless card text says otherwise, of course). [LSJ 20011228][LSJ 20020102]

  • Vampires/Crypt/Uncontrolled Region

Ruling: If you fill up two uncontrolled scarce vampires of the same clan (see http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/BLnag.html) during your influence phase, you move one into the controlled region and then the other - burning an additional 3 pool for the second because of the first. [LSJ 20011018]

  • Vampires/Crypt/Uncontrolled Region

Ruling: If you contest a scarce vampire (see http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/BLnag.html), you pay the 3-pool-per-same-clan penalty when putting the card into play (before contesting begins). [LSJ 20011018]

  • Voting

Errata: The first thing that happens during a referendum is the setting of terms. All the other effects are played during the Polling step. This includes cards that are used "before votes are cast". (This is errata to [6.3.2.1], making the setting of terms the only thing done in that step.) [RTR 20040501]

  • Voting

Ruling: All votes from a single source must be cast in agreement. A single source is a vampire or a single non-vampire source (like Ventrue HQ). All the votes a single vampire casts must be cast in agreement. All the votes from a given non-vampire source must be cast in agreement (you cannot tap the Ventrue HQ and cast 2 in favor and 1 against). [LSJ 20020126]

  • Voting

Ruling: If a referendum will pass automatically (e.g., Cryptic Rider, Charming Lobby, Malkavian Rider Clause, Día de los Muertos), then no voting occurs during the automatic referendum, and most "during a political action" and "during a referendum" effects cannot be used. E.g., Delaying Tactics cannot be used to cancel the referendum. Any effects that operate on the number of votes that the referendum passed by have no effect. [LSJ 19980107]